Low-Cal Cabbage Soup

IMG_3594

Happy Hump Day!

I have a question for you: It’s Spring, right? There are supposed to be flowers blooming and birds chirping? Not in Windsor, it seems! I woke up yesterday to this:

IMG_3584

Yes, that is snow. No, I do not like it! It is that kind of weather that makes me want to curl up in bed all day with my little snuggle bear and have a Dora the Explorer Marathon. It is also the kind of chilly day that calls for a nice steaming bowl of soup to warm you up!

Today’s recipe is low-cal cabbage soup. My aunt used to make cabbage soup for me all the time when I was younger (I think I was the only person who liked it!), so I decided to try my hand at it.

These are the vegetables that I used, but feel free to add whatever veggies you like.

Ingredients:
1/2 Green cabbage, chopped (about 4-5 cups)
1 large carrot, chopped into rounds
1 medium sized white onion, diced
2 stalks of celery, chopped
1/4 cup lentils
2 cloves minced garlic
2 tablespoons tomato paste
5 cups vegetable stock
1 (generous) tablespoon dried oregano
1 (generous) tablespoon dreid basil
1 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp garlic powder

IMG_3581

Just toss all these ingredients into a slow cooker and cook on high for three hours. Or, you can cook on low for 4-5 hours.  You could also cook this in a large pot on the stove top on meduim/low heat. if you don’t have a slow cooker. Let me tell you, this just hit the spot!

Nutritional Information: (This is per serving, which is 2 cups of soup)
Calories: 92
Carbohydrates: 16g
Fat: 2g
Protein: 1g

IMG_3593

Grab a spoon, a cuddle buddy and keep warm!
-Rianna

Leave a Reply

