Immunity Boosting Super Smoothie

photo 2

I am writing this post as study break activity. Holy moly! My brain has been going crazy and anytime I read the word GMO in my notes, my brain changes it into an acronym for ‘Get Me Out’! That is the level of I have reached. I cannot wait for exams to be done. To top it off, Elle and I are both suffering from the “sicky wickies”. Anytime I have to write exams, I end up catching some form of bug. It’s like whenever I need my body to be in full function, my immune system says, “yeah, right!” It goes like this:

Stress from exams (or anything) = higher cortisol levels than normal
Higher cortisol levels = lower immune response
Lower immune response = more likely to end up catching a bug

So what to do to feel better? First, let me tell you, moms do not get days off. This means, if you get the chance to nap, take it. Your body needs rest. Give it rest. Second, hydration is your foundation! Drink up that water! I love drinking coconut water, especially because it is great for re-hydration, and gives your immune system a good boost. Elle loves chewing on ice (not sure why) so I froze some coconut water with a bit of honey in it (good for soothing sore throats) and let her suck on those. For some reason she loves it like that, but won’t drink it just plain. Lastly, my secret to fighting the dreadful cold: My Immunity Booster Super Smoothie. Here is what you’ll need:

-1 cup of spinach , loosely packed (full of antioxidants that help in producing white blood cells…the most important part of our immune systems!)
-1 small banana (too many health benefits to list, but the main one I’ll point out is they are high in Vitamin B-6, which also helps in the production of white blood cells)
-1 Mandarin orange (Vitamin C, which shortens duration of colds)
-1/4 cup strawberries (Vitamin C)
-1 tsp honey (antibacterial properties for sore throat)
-2 tsp flax seeds (anti-inflammatory properties)
-1 tsp freshly grated ginger (relieves pain, fights viruses)
-1 tbsp lemon juice (Vitamin C, and it is also supposed to have calming properties which relieve tiredness, anxiety, tension, etc.)
– 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (Vitamin D, a mood booster, and immunity booster)

photo 3

I hope this helps anyone who (unfortunately) is fighting off a cold. This is also great just to give your immune system a boost when it may need one. You know, when everyone around you seems to be sniffling. And don’t fear its rich green colour. I know so many people who turn down smoothies that are unusual colours, but this is so tropical tasting! Elle even gave it her seal of approval, so you know it’s good stuff!

photo 1

Nutritional Information (For whole smoothie):
Calories: 186
Carboydrates: 42g
Fat: 2g
Protein: 5g
Sugar: 25g

Feel well, all!
-Rianna

 

 

Leave a Reply

