Maple Banana Granola

maple banana granola

Alrighty friends,

It’s been quite a while since I’ve posted anything, so I’m going to try to make up for it this week. First, I was busy with horrid exams. Since I’ve been done exams, I feel that I haven’t really done anything productive, and I am ok with that. I caught up on Game of Thrones, started and finished Orange is the New Black, watched a TON of documentaries (mostly about food!), read some books, and enjoyed Easter with my little famjam. I am also planning on heading down South next week with Elle to visit my grandma in Tennessee! I cannot wait for some country nature walks (minus the creepy spiders and other giant insects), visiting the neighbourhood horses and donkeys, and of cousre spending time with my Gramsy Gram (and her delicious cooking!).

I’m not taking any school courses this Spring, so I have a whole lot of time to experiment in the kitchen. That is, if Elle will let me stay inside. That little girl is addicted to the outdoors! She has so much fun being outdoors and gets hysterical whenever I bring her in. I think a camping trip is in order so she can just spend a few days completely with nature! Anyway, prepare for lots of new recipes!

Today’s recipe is something I’ve never tried before: Maple Banana Granola from scratch. This recipe will make your mouth water because of its aroma. Seriously, I was so hungry while it was baking because it filled the kitchen with such a sweet, delicious smell.

Elle and I decided to just munch on it how it was as little snack, but of course, you can eat some with milk for breakfast, sprinkle it on your yogurt, or mix it into trail mix. It definitely got the “MMMMM” of approval from Elle!

Here is what you’ll need:
-3 cups of rolled oats
-1 cup of slivered almonds
-1/4 cup toasted shredded coconut
-3 tablespoons sunflower seed kernals
-3 tablespoons flax seeds
-2 teaspoons cinnamon
-1/4 teaspoon salt
-1 tablespoon whole cane sugar
-2 very ripe bananas (Great opportunity to use up any frozen bananas that are in your freezer!)
-1/4 cup pure maple syrup
-1/3 cup coconut oil
-2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

Her is what to do:

Step 1)
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Step 2)
Mash those bananas! You’ll want them to be pretty smooth, so they’ll mix well, so get those chunks outta there!

Step 3)
Mix together all your dry ingredients in a large bowl (oats, almonds, coconut, sunflower seeds, flax seeds, salt, and cane sugar).

Step 4)
In a small saucepan, heat coconut oil until melted. Mix in maple syrup, vanilla, and mashed bananas.

Step 5)
Mix your liquids into the dry ingredients until everything is coated. Spread the mixture evenly onto a baking sheet. Pop it into the oven for 45 minutes and let that sweet aroma fill the air! Make sure you keep an eye on the granola as it is in the oven because the coconut oil is quick to crisp it. Mix it once or twice as it is baking. You’ll know it’s ready when the granola is ready when it changes colour to a nice golden brown. (You don’t want a DARK brown, because that means it is beginning to burn and won’t taste good.) I noticed that the edges get crispier first, so make sure to really mix it when you’re checking on it.

Make sure you let it cool completely when you take it out of the oven so it gets nice and crispy. Store it in an air tight container or jar so it doesn’t get stale. I hope everyone enjoys this!

Happy snacking!

-Rianna

 

Nutrition Facts Per Serving (Each serving is 1/4 cup)
Calories: 181
Carbohydrates: 14g
Fat: 14g
Protein: 3g
Sugar: 4g

 

Leave a Reply

